Ryan Poehling Fellowship

An award of $1,500 will be made annually to a graduate student who best exemplifies the sustained academic excellence, commitment to departmental service and leadership of the graduate program which Ryan displayed.

Nominations will be solicited annually during the first week in October.  Candidates may be nominated by any faculty member or graduate student, but may not nominate themselves.

Nominated candidates will be contacted by the Award Committee and asked to provide a one page summary of their suitability for the award, should they wish to be considered.  The closing deadline for these submissions will be November 1st.

The Award Committee will consist of three members nominated by the Chair.  The Chair may be one of the three members.

The successful candidate must provide a photograph and short biographical sketch for publication as part of the annual remembrance of Ryan.

Current and Former Poehling Fellowship Award Winners:


2015 Stephanie Zick

2014 David Keellings

2013 Yang Yang

2012 Erin bunting

2010 Risa Patarasuk

2009 Pinki Mondal

2008 Keith Yearwood

2007 Jaclyn Hall

2006 Lin Cassidy

2005 Matthew Marsik

2004 James Rasmussen

2003 Natalia Hoyos

2002 Andres Guhl

2001 Anne Angelheart


2015 Hannah Herrero

2014 Sheldon Waugh

2013 Nirav Patel

2012 Erica Carlsson

2011 Caroline Staub

2010 Kevin Ash