John Dunkle Scholarship

An award of $1,000 will be made annually to an undergraduate Geography major who shows sustained academic excellence, involvement in departmental activities, leadership and strong promise for graduate study.  This scholarship has been awarded since 2002.

All applicants should provide a one-page statement about their suitability for the award.  In their statement, applicants should address how they discovered geography; their involvement and leadership in departmental, university and community activities; plans to use their degree to help society and/or the environment; plans for pursuing graduate study and long-term career goals.   All applicants must also provide a photograph or digital image of themselves that may be used in publication.

The deadline for submissions of statements and photographs is usually in March of each year.  These are to be sent to the Chair of the committee, Joann Mossa, Undergraduate Coordinator, in original or electronic form.

We strongly encourage you to apply.

Recipients of the John R. and Fawn T. Dunkle Award:

2014 Jessica Van Horn

2013 Hannah Herrero

2012 Justin Fisch

2011 Dylan Paul

2010 Jason Saldariagga

2009 Michelle Ruiz

2008 Sarah Conlon

2007 Cammryne Anderson

2006 Jordon Wright

2005 David Rosenblum

2004 Nicholas Campiz

2003 Cerian Gibbes

2002 Lila Schaller